Witch City 5K

Good evening everyone!!

I have been all over the place this week, but mostly I have just been trying to unplug a bit. Sometimes I get overwhelmed with the amount of time I spend on my computer and reading books/articles/blogs and a much needed hiatus from it all is necessary. This weekend was definitely that!

Friday night Eric and I went to a party to celebrate his best friend, Jared’s 24th birthday.

(Typical of the two of them…Eric trying to look away and be cool, Jared trying to make a serious face…both of them are big loving goofballs ๐Ÿ™‚ )

Between work, school, and our weekend activities Eric and I are usually not on the same page as many of our close friends. It was nice to get together, hang out, catch up, and have a few drinks ๐Ÿ™‚ My drink of choice is a quick red wine sangria which I make using 1/2 red wine, 1/2 diet gingerale, lemon and lime juice, and another fruit or juice I have around. Another thing Eric and I did for the party was bring a veggie tray with hummus and tabouleh, along with some veggie chips and water crackers. I like to bring my own snacks to parties because a) I can’t really tolerate typical party fare (fried chips of any kind or anything cheesy) and b) I like there to be healthy options since I usually tend to be a big snacker at parties. We were actually the only ones to bring food so they ended up being a big hit ๐Ÿ™‚

Saturday was an Emily and Eric lazy Saturday special ๐Ÿ™‚ We didn’t really sleep in too late but we lounged around in our pj’s, made breakfast, and sat on the couch and watched tv together ๐Ÿ™‚ Once we both got ourselves together we went out “leaf peeping” at Ipswich River Park. I have some great nature pictures to follow but unfortunately the memory card is at Eric’s house and I am home.

Today was a great Sunday!! We started off our day nice and early with the Witch City 5K!

Awesome Halloween swag bag ๐Ÿ™‚ Oh, and there were tons of people in costumes!! Why did I not get my act together and get a race costume I do not know. Salem, MA + October = total Halloween madness!!

Eric and I were all bright-eyed and bushey-tailed in the 44 degree weather before the race:

We were still bundled up at this point with 25 minutes to go. We got our numbers and began to assemble ourselves:

Eric wasn’t a fan of his photo shoot

Being the early bird that I am I got another low numbers, ย 68 of 531!

Eric got number 70. Our question: what happened to 69?? We decided they eliminated it so no one would get ridiculed ๐Ÿ™‚

Ok so this race was not so pretty near the end. I was definitely better trained for my last 5K, I felt strong the whole time and was able to really push through to the very end. This race I started off great and then I started to hurt. Eric and I had planned on running 10 minute mile to start, and then getting a bit faster each one so that I broke the 30 minute mark on time. When he looked at me and said we were picking it up for mile two I yelled at him (even though we did definitely do that) and at mile three he could read it on my face that no meant no. What started as a dull ache on my right side was my stomach just burning and I was feeling a liiittle nauseous. By the time we were rounding the home stretch I was amazed my legs were still moving and just hoping to run through the finish line and not puke on anyone in front of me. I did keep everything down but man, it was not my usual finish. I typically sprint through the finish line but this was a drag. I completely know that my outdoor running training hasn’t been up to par lately and I take full responsibility for that. I am hoping to get in a few runs a week before next month’s Turkey Trot 5k. On the way home Eric told me that we will do some running together to get my speed up a little bit so that I can reach my goal for the next race. He is so selfless and supportive its kind of ridiculous. He really just wants to help me get to where I want to be…he’s totally not even running for himself at all **sigh** This race wasn’t a total wash out though, I beat my previous time by 10 seconds coming in at 31:09 and placing 58th of 93 in my division.

After the race and a banana we headed back to my house to get me some Sunday morning breakfast:

Pumpkin Pie Protein Oats! I added a bit more egg whites to it to help out my sore muscles (I may have been hurtin’ but I ran hard!). I even finished breakfast and showered into to spend my Sunday morning at William Sonoma for one of their technique classes: Breads & Spreads for the Holiday Table. I again seriously reccomend these classes, they’re free and you learn so many great tips and recipes (take home) plus you get to try what they make!! I was really excited for this one because I am interested in starting to do some break making. Top of my list from this class: Focaccia! It was so so good and awesome with lemon herbs infused in the dough plus fresh herbs on top. I’m thinking and Eric and Emily dinner soon will be some focaccia bread pizza ๐Ÿ™‚

The final part of my day involved a trip to Logan airport to pick up my younger cousin, Josh, after a trip to London to visit his girlfriend who is studying abroad.

They’re so cute ๐Ÿ™‚

It was fun to see him (he lives and goes to college in Maine) and to catch up on both his trip and his junior year at Bates. He’s an amazing skier and skis for the Bates Men’s Alpine team so he has a bit of a different college experience than me, but he’s also really into school too so we share that in common. I was expecting to take him out for a drink (he turned 21 last Monday) but unfortunately he was a bit jet-lagged and tired so instead we headed back to my house where he’s crashing tonight before driving back up to ME tomorrow.

That’s my weekend in a big ‘oleย nutshell ๐Ÿ™‚ I think that I am really done for the night and am needing to have a date with my pillow and blankets. Hope everyone had a great weekend and has a good start to their week!

lots of love,

Em

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Witch City 5K

  1. I love going unplugged for the weekend, though I can rarely do it for the whole thing. It is always so refreshing though, to kind of catch up with life and not worry about the online life!

    Glad you had a great weekend!

  2. Pingback: The slow life | Mindfully Emily

  3. Pingback: New initiatives | Mindfully Emily

Leave a Reply

