Run for the Beach 5k

Good Afternoon everyone!

Happy first day of football season, GO PATS!

I can’t believe how much I’ve already done and its 2:30 p.m. on a Sunday! First of all, the race:

I was NOT feeling it this morning when I woke up. My stomach has been off for a few days now, which is something typical of my digestive tract when it faces something it doesn’t like. I knew when I went to bed that this morning would be rough so I made sure that I practiced my meditation last night before I went to sleep and this morning before I left. I got out of bed a little after 7, wanting to give my body some time to wake up and get going. I started my morning with a big glass of water and then my stretching and meditation. It was a great way to get my body and mind in a good place before the race. After that I had another glass or two of water and a pre-race snack consisting of 2 pieces of Trader Joe’s Organic Spelt Bread with blueberry preserves. I knew that my stomach had butterflies, aside from how it had been feeling before, so I decided to just keep moving and get ready. Eric arrived around 9 and helped to calm my nerves before we headed out.

After picking up my number and swag-bag, I ran into my friend Bonnie from work who I had encouraged to sign up for the race.

Awesome to have someone you know running a race, too, and to be able to cheer them on! I got to see Bonnie cross the finish line an cheer her for those last few strides, awesome job Bonnie!!! Oh and by the way, she’s a mom of three under the age of 11; yeah she rocks 🙂

So after seeing Bonnie I headed to the parking lot to meet up with my mom. While waiting I took a few excited photo’s:

I was really surprised to have such a low number! I thought it was funny that it was “9” (my lucky sports # is 10) but when I was a little kid I had the hardest time pronouncing the number nine, or “noine” as I said it. It put a smile on my face as a I pounded the pavement 🙂

I kept my zip-up on until pretty much the start of the race, it was pretty chilly down by the ocean!

My mom and Eric walked up to the starting line with me to get ready for the race. It is so amazing to have people supporting you when you run; it made all the difference knowing they were there waiting for me at the finish line!

Cheerleader #1

Cheerleader/Picture-taker/Stuff-holder, love you Eric!

After this photo was taken we were off! I started out with a great pace and stride but was nervous that I was moving too fast and didn’t want to loose it. The course was a gorgeous run right along the coast with a few rolling hills. I knew I was doing well when I hit mile 1 and the timer said “9:31.” My goal for this race was 10 min/miles but I do not run with a watch or Garmin so it was all on me to just keep a good stride going. The race went straight down the same street then looped back around onto the same street at around mile 1.25. The hills on the way back were a bit harder, but I just kept telling myself “run every last inch, it’s just inches.” When I got overwhelmed about an approaching hill I just looked down at my feet, watching them move, and said “just keep getting those inches.” Often when I am on my own runs I give up on the hills or stop after them; today I knew I wanted to say that I ran every last inch. The last leg of the race before re-entering the parking lot and finish line was a slight incline, I was definitely hurting a bit, but I told myself “it’s all downhills from here!” I was  also very confident and excited knowing my Mom and Eric would be at the finish line waiting for me.

I wanted to sprint the last few yards, I had it in me!

Crossing the finish line with an unofficial time of 31:18; almost perfect 10 min/mile pace!!!

After finishing I caught my breath, said hi to my cheerleaders, and headed towards the food and drink tables. Water and banana, perfect post-race combo. After that I decided I was ready for a real breakfast and we headed home. Greatest part of this race was that it was less than 10 minutes from my house 🙂

Eric and I went to work in the kitchen when we got home. I made a batch of high-protein oats and eric had a few scrambled eggs.

In the oats: 1/2 rolled oats, 1 small banana, 1 packet Truvia, 1 t cinnamon, 2 egg whites (I’m keeping eggs in the diet but trying to purchase cage-free organic eggs). Topped it all off with 1/4 cup frozen blueberries, 1 T blueberry preserves and 1 T almond butter. Very filling and satisfying after running hard!

After breakfast Eric headed home to get himself ready for his soccer game this afternoon. My mom had been talking about making a trip to the mall and I thought I decided a little shopping and getting some returns out of the way might be a good idea (rather than totally crashing for the rest of the day). We started out at the mall where we went to William Sonoma to check out everything their cooking technique class schedule. We signed up for two classes, Fall Baking and Cooking Root Vegetables. I’m super excited for both! My passion is baking but I am starting to really enjoy learning to cook as well! Check them out if you have a William Sonoma in your area, they’re all free!

We  next ended up at Ann Taylor The Loft where I did a little damage with my store credit card:

Straight/skinny jeans

Oversized comfy cardigan, looks much better on than on my bed 🙂

A little blurry, but looove the deep chocolate brown color of this shirt! As much as I am on team Summertime all the way, I am getting excited about fall 🙂

And since I have been looking to expand my cookbook collection:

Gotta love soups and salads, planning on being a nerd and going through these with post-it notes later; inspiration for recipes is good!

That’s all for now, gotta help my mom prep for tonight’s dinner:

Grill Pizza!!!! Hopefully mine will be a little more shapely than last times 🙂

Have a great Sunday and a happy start to your week!!

-Em

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Run for the Beach 5k

  1. Danielle says:

    Congrats on the race! I’m just getting into running, I hope to run my first 5K in a couple of months!

    • Thanks Danielle! I honestly never thought I was cut out for this type of running but this is my third 5k so far and I have to say that it gets addicting! It wasn’t easy every step but the finish line made it so worth it 🙂 Good Luck!

  2. Faith says:

    Congrats on the run! The soup cookbook should be a lot of fun – hopefully you post some of your trials from it! The grill pizza looks delish too, wonkily shaped or otherwise 😉

    • Thanks Faith! I am super excited about the soup recipes, too! I just told my mom about it so she has fair warning that I will be taking over the kitchen a bit 🙂 Tonight’s pizza was a bit better in design; will post pictures of it tomorrow 🙂

  3. Great job on the run, Em!! Keep up the good work!

    ~Alyssa

  4. Tina says:

    Great job!!!! You did such a good job keeping the pace you hoped for. That’s impressive. 🙂 And a great time too!

    Love Ann Taylor Loft. It’s one of my favorite stores.

  5. Pingback: Witch City 5K | Mindfully Emily

  6. Pingback: Successfully Distracted | Mindfully Emily

  7. Pingback: New initiatives | Mindfully Emily

Leave a Reply

