Family Sick Day

Good evening everyone!

Hope you stayed warm and dry if you were getting snow like us. I woke up from my cold-medicine induced sleep to a whole lotta this:

Another snowy day in New England! It makes me a little sad considering the sidewalks were just getting close to being down to pavement and running worthy. It looks like I will be continuing to embrace the gym and looking forward to my upcoming skiing weekends. Speaking of skiing, I just purchased the BEST Groupon today! Okay, maybe not greatest ever, but greatest for this skiier 🙂 The Groupon was for 1 weeknight stay plus 2 adult lift tickets at Sugarloaf Mountain in Maine. Why is this so amazing?? Sugarloaf was were I learned to ski, it is my favorite mountain in the East (I’ve never skied out west, personal goal for my 20’s). It is also my aunt’s home mountain; she lives about 45 minutes from the base and is a ‘loafer for life! My goal is to turn the trip into a ski and stay day on the mountain and a weekend at her place for more skiing and relaxing. She lives on the most GORGEOUS farm house overlooking an expansive field where her neighbor’s 40+ horses roam all day long. It’s such a gorgeous retreat truly in the heart of Maine. As you can tell I am very excited about this trip! I’m planning to ski there next weekend and plan the hotel stay for sometime in February or March. More to come, and definitely some great photo’s to show when I do go!

Ok so back to my day…

After waking up to the snow, I treated myself to some warm lemon water to pregame my body for a warm bowl of oats. I decided to finally switch up my oats a bit. It started out with all the usual characters: 1/2 cup oats, 1 1/2 cups water, cinnamon, and a ‘nanner:

These ones are just getting to the perfect oats state, brown spots are starting! I used to love bananas just yellow but ever since putting them in my oats I need them to be spotted. The next addition to my oats came to me as I stared out the window at the snow:

A beautiful, brown bosc pear. It was just the teeniest bit under-ripe but I knew that cooking it down in the oats would allow it to come around. The finished bowl looked something like this:

You can see the little pear pieces poking through! I topped it with about 1 1/2 tbsp of almond butter (roasted, unsalted) and called it a morning. I sat around on the couch for a while waiting for my parents to get home from the doctors. My Mama had her go at the 50 year-old initiation (a.k.a. colonoscopy) and I knew that I would have a couch buddy for the day once she returned home and recovered from the drugs 🙂

While she napped through her med-induced sleepiness, my dad and I ran a few errands and came back so he could plow the driveway. I had a bowl of my homemade chicken soup for lunch with some toast. A little while later I decided to break out the juicer to give myself an immunity boost. The product was this pretty little number:

Beet, carrot, apple, celery, and cucumber juice! Definitely a new experience for me but I liked it! It may have been a little better chilled and I have to get used to the new flavors, but I really liked it. Once the juice was made, I settled down on the couch with my mom and dad for a little family movie time in the form of…

(source)

If you haven’t seen this movie, you must! It’s so cute and actually quite the tear-jeaker. My mom and I were both reaching for the tissues by the end, but had laughed the whole way through 🙂

Ok friends, it’s about time for Biggest Loser and my evening sorbet-throat treatment.

Question: Do you like to be alone or with people on your sick days?

Have a great night!

lots of love,

Em

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Family Sick Day

  1. I like being with people on sick days (namely my mom because she feeds me). Sometimes it’s fun to be overly dramatic and get waited on.

    I’m obsessed with Toy Story! The third one was so sad. Not as funny as the first two, but definitely very touching!!

  2. I like to be alone on sick days because I turn into a three headed monster! Some people like to be taken care of, but I just find people trying to take care of me annoying when I’m sick. I’m cranky 😦

Leave a Reply

