Soothing with Soup

Good Evening everyone!

If you’re in New England right now, you know that tension is high as the Pats and the Jets battle it out. I’ve removed myself from the main living room and my parents to enjoy the game and some blogging without so much yelling. I have unfortunately caught some sort of cold/sinus/flu-like thing that has left me sneezing, sniffling, and sinus head-aching. Good thing there’s football and Golden Globes to keep me entertained 🙂

I woke up this morning after a not-so-stellar night’s sleep to a gorgeous sunny but very chilly winter day:

I love the view from the back window of our house. That river leads right out to the Atlantic ocean my friends 🙂 I also snapped a photo of our neighbor’s house:

She recently moved to live with her son in Colorado and my grandfather asked me to take this picture to send her a letter. I’m not sure if she has less snow out there but I think she will have a smile on her face looking at her old home all covered in snow.

Since I am in a sick-funk and not up for heavy or interesting foods, I’ve been focusing on soups. First up, I had to save the overly spicy soup Eric and I made the other night:

Pre-revival, it was way too thick and much much too spicy. Most websites I googled about toning down the spice of an already-made soup suggested adding some sort of dairy or cream: not happening for this lactose-intolerant girl! My second thought? Pumpkin!

Pumpkin is the perfect secret ingredient to add to your tomato dishes amp up the fiber and nutrient content. I added the pumpkin first but it still needed something else. I followed it up with a can of Italian-style diced tomatoes. The result:

A delicious and moderately spicy soup with a whole lotta fiber 🙂 It was a perfect lunch that filled me right up.

Today, with my cold in full force, there was no messing around, it was time for the real stuff:

Chicken soup-the ultimate sick-person’s meal…especially on cold winter days. I used the energy I had left this afternoon and got to chopping

Three large stalks of celery

4 carrots, chopped up nice and fine 🙂 The rest of the soup went un-photographed because I lost my lighting and my energy. It was really simple consisting of 3 small parsnips, 1/3 of an onion-chopped, a few mushrooms, ~1 lb. chicken tenders, 4 cups reduced sodium chicken broth, 2 cups water, salt and pepper. You throw everything in the pot and bring to a boil then reduce to a simmer for 30 minutes. It was perfectly simple and soothing. I served it along side some kale:

And I also had a big sweet ‘tater for some vitamin A.

Now I am going to finish up this game and then switch blissfully over to the Golden Globes where I will be rooting for Glee!

Have a great night everyone and stay warm!

lots of love,

Em

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Soothing with Soup

  1. mel says:

    omg i agree with the first part about the col/flu/thing. mine is hayfever and abit of a cold. oh btw my name is melissa i live in new zealand. those photos are GORGUS… i wish our wether was like that. but our winter is just rain rain rain..
    ttyl

  2. the soup looks great.

    i have a recipe for pumpkin, potato, and veggie soup. i just throw pumpkin puree, taters, and veggies, plus water and spices into one pot and boil for an hour. super easy.

    get well soon!

  3. Would never think to add pumpkin. What a good idea! And I hate when my dad watches football. He gets way too loud and obnoxious.

  4. Pingback: Family Sick Day | Mindfully Emily

  5. Pingback: Something New, Lentil Stew! | Mindfully Emily

Leave a Reply

