Annual Christmas Cookie Bake

Good evening!

Today was a rainy and dreary day…perfect for baking cookies!

My mom and I had schedule our annual cookie bake for today and it happened to be just the two of us 🙂 We had about 6 or 7 types to make and we ended up getting through 4 of them today (lots of big batches)!

To start, my mom’s Nut Balls:

It doesn’t seem like a lot of dough, but the cookies are “marble-sized” so it goes a long way! The raw nut balls:

All that’s in there is butter, chopped pecans, flour, sugar, salt and vanilla extract.

Once they’re out of the oven and cooled them in powdered sugar. So buttery and good 🙂

Next up was Mama Pea’s Christmas Cookie Dough Balls, the newest family tradition!

We made a double batch, all of which I packed up for the firemen that let me park at their station near my school 🙂 I have to leave a strict note with them to make sure that each group (there’s usually 4 per week) gets some of them! I have a feeling they will disappear very quickly 🙂

Next is one of my favorite Christmas traditions, my mom’s Molasses Cookies:

Each little guy gets rolled in red or green sugar.

All lined up and ready for baking. I think that we had 6 or 7 trays of them. They’re always huge hit though so they’ll be spread around.

And our finally cookie of the day, and the longest, were Cherry Chocolate Meringues. These were a first for us, and my first time ever attempting meringue. I am not used to having to way for 2 hours of baking and 1 1/2 hours of cooling before I can even take a cookie out of the oven! They are still setting now…

Cherry Chocolate Meringues

Adapted from Cooking Light

Ingredients

  • 4  large egg whites
  • 1/4  teaspoon  cream of tartar
  • 1/2  cup  granulated sugar
  • 3/4  cup  powdered sugar
  • 1  teaspoon  vanilla extract
  • 1/2  cup  dried tart cherries, chopped
  • 3  ounces  73% dark chocolate, chopped very coarsely (think chunks)

Directions: Beat the egg whites and cream of tartar on medium until soft peaks form, then turn the mixer on high and add granulated sugar first, then powdered sugar, one tablespoon at a time. Add in the extract and continue beating until stiff peaks form (may take a bit longer than you think). Fold in cherries and chocolate. Spread the mixture on to a 10×14 cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Score with a knife in 2×2 inch squares. Bake at 200 degrees for 2 hours; turn off oven and allow to cool in oven for 1 1/2 hours. Allow them to set before cutting.

That’s all the cookies we had in us for today. We still are planning on making a few more recipes and I will have to remake my double batch of dough balls later this week. As for the rest of the day, it’s been a whole lotta homework with a whole lot more to go 🙂

Have a great night everyone and a good start to your week!

lots of love,

Emily

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Annual Christmas Cookie Bake

  1. Sounds so fun! I love hearing about other people’s traditions. 🙂 So nice what you’re doing for the fire house too!

    • Thanks Meg. The guys are really good to me so I try to be good to them back when I can. My dad also got them all giftcards for coffee 🙂 Free and safe parking in Cambridge/Boston-area really is a heaven sent 🙂

  2. Oh boy, those cookies look delicious. I love staying home and baking, it’s so relaxing! 🙂

  3. Simply Life says:

    Oooh all of that looks so good!

  4. Pingback: Christmas: Feast and Family | Mindfully Emily

Leave a Reply

