Full-Day Wednesdays

Good evening friends!

Happy Hump Day! How has yours been? As usual, mine are a bit long but I was well prepared. The night before long days, I usually prep my lunch and dinner and have my bags packed. The less I have to do in the morning, the better. I woke up around 7 7:30 for an 8:30 spin class at the gym. Since our gym switched over to Les Mills classes (the company that creates Body Pump), there’s a few 30 minute spin classes which I love; they are quick, intense, and make me feel like I can get in my fitness without loosing my whole morning. After spin I came home and had a solid 2 hours to have breakfast, get ready, and transition to internship mode.

The great thing about afternoon-evening hours at my site is that I avoid traffic=way less stress. Traffic is just one of  those things that gets me frustrated…I know, I’m working on it 🙂 I got in at 11:45 for a 12 meeting, just enough time to prep my materials for my evening group to give myself a 15 minute break after the meeting. It’s all about the prep, people! I think I’ve mentioned this before, but my group involves an incentive program using dirt bike with middle school kids. Until this year, I had never rode a dirt bike or anything with a clutch for that matter. I struggle with new activities when I don’t pick up on them quickly; this is definitely an activity that is both new and challenging. I was feeling a bit less stressed about our group because my supervisor was co-leading a training, taking some of the pressure and responsiblity on me. The group went really well…until the point where the bike got away from me and I went crashing down on my shin. 

I’ll spare you the actual road rash pictures, they’re not pretty! It was a tough moment; trying to be a leader while wanting to cry my eyes out. Thankfully, my supervisor is a great group leader and amazing in a crisis; she delegated, redirected, and calmed me down. The great thing about middle school kids (yes, they are great!!) is that they are able to feel empathy without making it a huge deal; they under-react and move on quickly. I was grateful for my supervisors presence and even more grateful that my late evening client canceled. I drove my bum legged self home and reheated my pre-prepped dinner:

This is one of my favorite meals on the go: brown rice with steamed veggies, almonds, craisins, and today some fresh mango. I top it off with some Bragg’s Liquid Aminos (the gluten-free/health food alternative to soy sauce) and I’m good. Total prep time for this meal is about 15-20 minutes tops: 5 minute rice, chop the veggies, steam them in the microwave, throw together almonds and you’re good. It’s also great because it doesn’t necessarily need refrigeration thanks to it being meat-free.

Right now I have a full stomach, an elavated and iced leg, and am catching up on DVRed Parenthood (instead of being with a family therapy client…almost seems wrong).

Tell me: when was the last time you took a major spill?? Are you a klutz? I know I am!!

lots of love,

Emily

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

