A day to remember, a day to celebrate

Good evening friends,

I hope you all took some time out, as I did today, to remember September 11th, 2001. My dad is a firefighter and, although neither he nor my family was directly effected, I mourned the loss of our firefighter family members and the tragedy that shook our nation to it’s core. I was a freshmen in high school when the tragedy occured; our school chose not to inform the students, but selectively remove ones whose parents or family were flight attendants or in New York City. I did not find out what really occured until after school. I immediately went to join my family at my grandparents home where we sat in front of the TV for hours, watching, mouths wide open and tears in our eyes. We cried for the victims, for their families, and for the firefighters and their loved ones whose lives were lost or in danger.

This morning I attended a memorial service at my dad’s fire station with my mom.

Tears filled my eyes again today as the men the serve our city stood there, honoring the men and women who lost their lives on this day ten years ago. It was nice to spend some time with this extended family of ours and to share in the sadness and remembrance with them.

I hope this day still holds signficant meaning in generations to come. I know I will never forget and I hope we can help others to know and remember what this day was and what it meant for our country.

_____________________________________________________________________________

September 11th is also a day which I celebrate the birthday of my best friend, Jenna

Jenna is such a true and loving friend; I always feel sad that her birthday coincides with such a solemn day. To make up for it, her friends and I gathered at Tavern in the Square in Allston for football and cupcakes! I know, two things you probably thought you wouldn’t hear together, but Jenna loves both, so we happily obliged. I decided to bake some gluten-free and dairy-free cupcakes yesterday (Jenna is lactose-intolerant, too).

These are Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip cupcakes that I adapted from this recipe. The only two changes I made were I skipped the chopped peanuts and used semi-sweet chips instead of dark chocolate. I debated on what frosting and decided a glaze would be best. The glaze was just confectionary sugar, cocoa powder, and water. The result was pretty delicious, if I do say so myself:

The cupcakes were flavorful and light (not what you would expect in a flourless recipe) and the glaze was the perfect amount of sweet and chocolaty to top the cupcake. Everyone else brought a cupcake, or two, or a a dozen and we had a cupcake feast:

Someone also purchased a few mini ones from Sweet:

There were a few other massive cupcakes that went un-photographed; we cut some up to share and others were just eaten whole 🙂 Jenna loved my cupcakes which made my day. I gave her a gift of candy corns (her favorite) and a Clean Eating Magazine subscription, which she had given to me on my birthday. We are healthy eating buddies so it’s nice to be able to share that love…and our love for sweets!

Happy 24th Birthday Jenna!!!

Tell me, what did you do on this day? Share any stories or memories you’d like.

Lots of love,

Em

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

