Non-stop Day Off

Good Evening friends!

How was your Tuesday start to the week?? It’s always nice when you have a one day advantage on the weekend, but it always makes for a crazier first day back. I am off the next two days before I start my internship (ahhh!!!) this Thursday. This morning I woke up, a bit too early with a plan…

6:30 a.m. Alarm goes off… I sit and wonder why, oh why, I should be up this early on my day off.

6:40 a.m. remember that why I set my alarm was so that I could do a test-drive to my internship site during rush-hour traffic to see how long it takes.

6:42 a.m. shower and attempt to wake myself up. Proceed to get myself ready, also throw in a load of laundry.

7:15 a.m. opt to make breakfast, despite being knowing it will force me to leave a little late than planned. But really, how can you turn down a bowl of banana oatmeal with almond butter??

7:49 a.m. Hit the road, 19 minutes later than planned, but a full belly and a to-go mug of tea happier.

8:44 a.m. Arrive at my internship site, success! Will probably leave the 19 minutes earlier still on Thursday **just in case**

9:08 a.m. make it back home, head straight for the library for my next, to-do:

My newest book! I gave up on Cutting for Stone and am on to this one…plus starting to read some books for school, one of which I picked up there today…more on that in another post.

9:48 a.m. Returned home, realize just how tired I am. Put sheets in the dryer. Fold and put away laundry from a few days ago (yes, this is one of my bad habits for sure). Read blogs for a while.

10:47 a.m. leave for 11 a.m. appointment.

12:00 p.m. head home from appointment, notice that the rain is holding off for a bit and decide to take my run outdoors.

12:35 p.m. Leave for “40-50 minute easy run.”

1:24 p.m. Return home, 4.95 miles and 49:09 minutes later…SO EXCITED!!! 9:55 average miles on an “easy” day, not too shabby!

1:46 p.m. After calling my mom to tell her how excited I was about my run, sit down to eat this lunch:

I know, not very exciting, but it worked for me 🙂

2:00 p.m. Decide that I need to go to the shoe store to see about investing in a new pair of Aisics. I have been experiencing some pain on the soles of my feet while running lately, making things a bit unpleasant.

Brand new Aisic GT 2160’s, mission accomplish…$99.99 later!!! Whoever said running was a cheap sport really didn’t know what they were talking about; or just didn’t have wide and needy feet!

2:30 p.m. Go to the Hallmark store to look at a potential Vera Bradley bag for internship. Realize that having just purchased $99.99 sneakers, this next purchase will require a trip to the bank!

2:45 p.m. Bank, anxiety over dwindling account and decreased working hours ensues.

3:15 p.m. Home, need a break from spending money for a bit, shower and wait for my mom to get home.

4:08 p.m. Mom arrives at the house, we venture off to our next shopping location, T.J. Maxx

4:55 p.m. Defeated at T.J. Maxx, head over to Trader Joe’s for Brown Rice Penne and Puffins 🙂

5:18 p.m. Arrive home and start the dinner-making-marathon with my mom; we are both yawning and a little bit “hangry.”

6:12 p.m. Sit down to eat this dinner:

Minus the wine. Apres dinner included drying dishes and folding laundry

7:47 p.m. Feet up, on the couch, drinking peppermint tea, blogging 🙂

Tell me, what did you do on your Tuesday-after-the-long-weekend??? Do you ever have “days off” that are busier than work days?

Have a great night everyone, Go Sox!

lots of love,

Em

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Non-stop Day Off

  1. Pingback: How to survive your first day as an intern | Mindfully Emily

Leave a Reply

