New Hampshire Weekend

Hello friends,

I’ve been on a little hiatus for few days, but hey, I’m on Spring Break! I kicked off my break with a ski trip up to New Hampshire with the family. We left briiight and early Friday morning (hello, 4:50 a.m. wakeup) and headed for our family friends mountain-side home. We made a quick stop their to drop our bags and change for the mountain. We skiied WildCat Mountain on Friday which was a pretty stellar day:

Clear skies and clear trails, a skiers delight! The only bad part of the day was the killer winds that hit you going up the lift; they were so strong and freezing cold! But as bad as they were on the way up they were amazing for the ride down; they pushed you the mountain so we were skiing super-fast. The snow conditions were great and the extra speed definitely made for a fun day; definitely not conditions for a beginner, though. The views were pretty awesome, too. It was too windy to take pics from the top but heres part of Mount Washington (highest peak in the east) from the base:

After a great day on the mountain, and a few apres ski beers enjoyed by the guys (I skied with my dad and two of his other firefighter friends) we headed back to enjoy the amazing house. Here’s a little tour starting at the side door.

1st bedroom with this bathroom off of it

Then the bedroom went on into the living room

Lofted ceiling, flat screen over the fireplace, comfy couches 🙂

Stairway up to my sleeping loft

Cozy loft with a double and twin bed…and yes, I took the double bed 🙂

Wetbar off of the living room

Dining room with a window seat…when I have a home someday, it will have a window seat, I love those!

Kitchen with stainless steel appliances.

Not pictured downstairs another full bedroom, with walk-in closet, kitchenette, and full bath with jacuzzi tub and stand-up shower (don’t know why I missed that). I loved this house! It was the best mix of modern and cabin feel 🙂

I skipped skiing on Saturday because of the rainy conditions and hit the shops with my mom and her friend instead.

I found a gluten-free barbeque sauce, made in Maine. It’s pretty good, not your typical BBQ-sauce flavor, a little more tomatoey with the sweet and tangy kick.We were at Zeb’s General Store, it’s a pretty famous landmark in NH.

Bear Smooch! I wanted this, but I was too cheap (I think it was over $5)

Loved this cookbook 🙂

After a day of shopping on Saturday we came home and made a big homecooked meal. I had steamed asparagus, a roasted sweet potato, grilled chicken and we shared a salad. Everyone else had spaghetti and meatballs (I’m going gluten-free for a while, more on that tomorrow).

It was a pretty good weekend to start my Spring Break. Today was a bit of a rude awakening from a life of leisure with a 5:45 a.m. wake-up and a day of substitute teaching for special needs 1st-3rd graders. They were the cutest but definitly a little exhausting!

I’m going to call it a night for now, hoping to get in a good gym session tomorrow morning and then heading into Boston for brunch with some of my best friends 🙂

Have a great night everyone, hope your week is off to a great start!

lots of love,

Em

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

