Emily, A to Z

Good evening friends,

So I am over half-way done with this weekends session of classes, woo-hoo!! I really cannot complain about being in school this weekend, the class is very interesting and the professor is really incredible. The course is titled, Psychoeducational Approaches, and we’re learning ways as counselors we can teach individual clients and groups on mental health related topics. The major project of this course is designing a 6-session curriculum on a topic of choice, my group is looking at teaching nutritional skills to low-income families on a tight budget. It’s not fully conceptualized yet but I’m very excited about it. Our professor is so interesting and motivating, he really makes you want to be a better student and future counselor. He left us with a great quote:

Balance is something you maintain, not attain”

Since I am all about finding balance in my life, I loved this quote as a bit of clarity…I already have balance, I just have to work at it; some days it’s better than others but I can always do it if I take care of myself. Meditation, mindfulness and yoga ๐Ÿ™‚

Since I’ve wrote, typed and talked a whooole lot today the rest of this post is going to to the point: the A to Z’s about me! Borrowed from Ash

A. Age: 23

B. Bed size: Twin, hey I’m little and I live with the parents ๐Ÿ™‚

C. Chore you dislike: Dusting, it makes me itchy!

D. Dogs: None yet, but I realllllyyyy want a pug in the worst way. Thanks Tina for providing so many pictures of your cute one in the meantime ๐Ÿ™‚

E. Essential start to your day: Breakfast, it’s a must, even if its at 11:45 after I’ve gone to the gym.

F. Favorite color: Plum purple

G. Gold or silver: silver

H. Height: 5′ .75″…but my license says 5’1″ ๐Ÿ™‚

I. Instruments you play(ed): Violin 1 1/2 years, Drums 1 year, Voice everyday baby! I was in a select chorus in high school, although, I’m not sure how good I was…

J. Job title: Grad Student and Substitute Teacher

K. Kids: None that I know of…although some of my residents when I was a Resident Assistant referred to me as Mom…and some of them still do!

L. Live: the North Shore of Massachusetts…love living on the ocean!!

M. Momโ€™s name: Donna…I call her Donna B ๐Ÿ™‚

N. Nicknames: Em, Emmy, Em-shmem, Midget, Bergeem (my email address from undergrad…), EAB SND (also during undergrad, my friends believed I was saint-like and was bound to be a future Nun like the Sisters of Notre Dame at our school), Emmy-Lou (my mom)

O. Overnight hospital stays: I fractured my skull while sledding when I was 5 years old and spent 2 nights at Children’s Hospital Boston…quite the scary experience, but I’m still all in one piece!

P. Pet peeves: Many Massachusetts drivers who pretend they own the road while simultaneously ignoring the rules of the road, passive aggressive people

Q. Quote from a movie: This is tough for me because I am so bad at remembering word-for-word stuff (and yes, I am going to be a mental health counselor some day) but since this is something that recently made me laugh

“You guys might not know this, but I consider myself a bit of a loner. I tend to think of myself as a one-man wolf pack. But when my sister brought Doug home, I knew he was one of my own. And my wolf pack… it grew by one. So there… there were two of us in the wolf pack… I was alone first in the pack, and then Doug joined in later. And six months ago, when Doug introduced me to you guys, I thought, “Wait a second, could it be?” And now I know for sure, I just added two more guys to my wolf pack. Four of us wolves, running around the desert together, in Las Vegas, looking for strippers and cocaine. So tonight, I make a toast!” -The Hangover

R. Righty or lefty: Righty

S. Siblings: Dan (25) and his girlfriend of 8 years Jackie is practically my sister ๐Ÿ™‚

T. Time you wake up: weekdays 6:15 if working, 7-8 if not. weekends 7-8:30…consistency is key!

U. Underwear: Wear ’em…that’s all you need to know ๐Ÿ™‚

V. Vegetables you dontโ€™ like: Onions and green peppers…I’ve learned to love all the rest!

W. What makes you run late: Needing to wait until I have just enough time to get ready and go…and then realizing that I don’t.

X. X-rays youโ€™ve had: Head/Pelvic/Spinal for when I fractured my skull Foot when I rolled my ankle and broke my foot after a week of double-sessions to make the field hockey team (freshmen year of HS, so I still had time to play) Abdomen two weeks ago to make sure that the capsule endoscopy that I swallowed had, ahem, passed.

Y. Yummy food you make: Oats, Salads, Soups, Cakes, Cookies and Pies

Z. Zoo animal favorites: Two years ago I went to Busch Gardens and fell in love with all of the animals. Favorites were the elephants, gorillas, and giraffes

What’s your A, E, T and Z?

That’s all, have a great night everyone!

lots of love,

Em

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Emily, A to Z

  1. I love these fun posts. I’m going to do my own soon. ๐Ÿ™‚ And yes – that hospital story is scary!

Leave a Reply

