Molasses Cookie Energy Bites

Good afternoon my friends!

Another day, another snow storm

I am seriously grateful that I woke up around 7:30 and made it to the gym by 8:30. After an hour long workout I was already clearing off my car and sliding all over the roads 🙂 I do have to say, though, I am getting better at driving a  front-wheel-drive car in the snow with each passing storm! Once home, I decided a warm bowl of oats was appropriate (when is it not).

Today I tried something new, protein powder in my oats. I am never sure how I want to amp up the protein in my oats; for a while it was eggy oatmeal, but that got old. More recently I have been going back to nut butter in my oats, but some days I like to start off my day with a leaner protein and save my nut butter or almond snacking for later. So today my main protein source came from Rice Proten Powder. In the mix:

< 1/2 cup oats, 1 scoop vanilla rice protein powder, 1 banana, 1 pear, 1 tsp each ginger and cinnamon, 1/4 tsp each cloves and nutmeg. After tasting the oats the powder (which is unsweetened) made them a little bland and grainy tasting. I added a packet of Truvia to balance out the powder and amp up the sweetness. After the oats were done I ended up drizzling a bit of almond butter on them. They were really good but I’m not sure if this will be a regular recipe for me. Looking for some good suggestions for protein powder oats (I don’t use whey or soy protein so rice or hemp would be good bases).

On to my snowday project, an energy bite that tastes like a cookie but is good for you. So I decided on a Larabar style ball that tasted like my favorite Christmas Molasses cookie

Molasses Cookie Energy Bites

1 cup raw almonds

1 tsp cinnamon

¼ tsp cloves

¼ tsp sea salt

1 tbsp + 1 1/2 tsp blackstrap molasses

6 dates

1 tbsp vanilla rice protein powder

1 Truvia packet

The first step is to grind the almonds in the food processor until a course sand forms

When that’s done, put the almonds in a bowl and add dates to the food processor and process until smooth. Next add the almonds back in along with the cinnamon, cloves, salt, protein powder, and Truvia; pulse to combine. Finally add the molasses and process until clumps start to form and the molasses has mixed throughout (may require some scraping). Next, use a tablespoon to measure out portions, then squeeze in your hands to combine into balls.

The dark color is all from the molasses. Blackstrap is a little more intense than your regular molasses but the nutritional benefits are huge! I have started incorporating it into my diet to help with my low iron. The recipe made 13 balls but I did the nutrition out for 14 to account for the testing and bits that got left over:

Nutrition per bite: 77.5 calories, 5.2 g of healthy fat, 153 mg potassium,  1.5 g fiber, 2.7 g sugar, and 3.3 grams protein.
These bites are going to be a great snack on the mountain this weekend and would be great for kid and big kids alike!
Now I have to decide if I’m going back out to shovel or waiting it out for my dad to get home and run the snow blower…hmmm. At least I’ve had a good dinner waiting for me all day, homemade tomato sauce which I’ll serve over spaghetti squash 🙂
Have a good night everyone, stay safe and warm!
lots of love,
Em
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

