New Chapter

Good evening friends,

I’ve been debating what to post on here for the past week. I never know how much to self-disclose, but I think I do need to make a mention to this. Last week marked the end of my relationship with Eric. I don’t want to discuss the details for the sake of both of our privacies, but it was a somewhat mutual decision and we are going to continue being friends. The past week has been difficult as I try to re-learn how to go about some things alone after 2 1/2 years. Things are getting better each day and I am comforted by the unending support of my family and friends that I have reached out to. I tend to try and cope with my problems by myself (despite wanting to go into the counseling profession), so this has been a lesson in asking for help and leaning on others. With time, I will be doing a whole lot better, for now I’m just taking it a day at a time and keeping my schedule busy and full of fun activities with friends.

_________________________________________

The past week I started classes again. Unlike last semester’s Monday-Wednesday evening schedule, this semester I just have two classes on Wednesday evening and one weekend-format class starting next month. I am looking forward to having 4 weeknights at home rather than commuting in and out of the city for half the week. I am hoping my wide-open schedule will allow me to substitute teach more often to fund my rejuvenated love for skiing ๐Ÿ™‚ I am making my first trip to the mountain this Sunday and could not be more excited! One of my ways to cope with life’s stressors and to truly enjoy myself is to get outdoors and get active. This trip is turning out to be a pretty good group of us and can’t wait to share it with you all. In preparation for the trip I made a little trip to the stores today.

First off, I needed a new headband for my post-helmet hair. I always wear a helmet when I go skiing due to a childhood skull injury. With my new shorter hair, I need a way to put my hair back after the helmet, and any elastic/ponytail/braid hair-do is out of the question. So, here’s the new headband, featuring Columbia’s new omni-heat technology (it’s super thin but really warm):


It should be good even, with the helmet on, to keep me a little extra warm; it’s supposed to be in the 20’s when we are on the mountain! While I was buying a helmet I also came across these ski necessities:

Hand and toe warmers are MUST for me when I go skiing. My fingers always get really close to being frost-bitten, last year they got so cold in the first hour on the mountain that I had to go to the pro-shop and buy a $90 pair of leather mittens (leather and mitten are the warmest options). Not my finest spending moment, but it was a must if we were going to finish out the day we had paid for.

Another mountain must is the proper food-fuel. I am a big food and snack packer for the mountain. Since it’s a day trip (and we’ll be leaving at the crack of dawn) breakfast with probably be toast with peanut butter and banana’s to-go. I may not be hungry right when we leave so it will go in tinfoil and we’ll get on the road. I made a trip to the grocery store and got some essentials and other things that I had been lacking:

Oat Bran cereal (Heather has been talking about it so much that I must try some), No-Pudge Fudge brownies (a treat for my ski-buddies), Eden Organic Garbanzo Beans (there have been so many good hummus recipes on blogs lately), Wyman’s Maine Blueberries (for my oats), organic celery (for hummus),ย tabbouleh, Chobani blueberry yogurt, and of course banana’s ๐Ÿ™‚ I also purchased some turkey for sandwhichs which I did not photograph. Speaking of turkey, check out the salad I made the other day that I topped with some turkey:

That would be romaine, grape tomatoes, butternut squash, goat cheese and turkey. A random assortment but it was really good ๐Ÿ™‚ I ate it along with to small slices of Whole Foods Sprouted Whole Grain Bread.

I’m off to find out my Friday night plans. I have a meet-up with my best friend, Jenna, from undergrad for lunch and catching up.

Tell me, what are your ways to cheer yourself back up? Do you like to get active, have some retail-therapy, or do you take the zen/yoga/meditation route? I would looove to hear your strategies and suggestions ๐Ÿ™‚

lots of love,

Emily

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New Chapter

  1. Sโ˜€S says:

    Girl it sounds like you are being incredibly strong and incredibly brave.
    I am no counsellor at all but it sounds like you are handling the situation in a healthy way – I know I need to get moving when I’m in a bad place, physically AND mentally. Running helps me focus my thoughts and strength work helps me blast out negative emotions. I wish you the very, very best.

    And, as an aside, the foodie in me needs to glorify the oat bran: it has been a constant source of breakfast joy in my life from the first time I tried it. SO good.

    • Thanks so much Savannah. I am trying to be strong but I am definitely having my weak moments. I know that being active is going to really help me get through this, and reaching out to friends as well. Thank you for the encouragement and advice!

      And I just tried oat bran for dinner and I’m already hooked ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Sorry to hear about your breakup. It is a tough time to get through. I get through hard times with reading, prayer, friends, food, exercise, and a kitten.

  3. spoonfulofsugarfree says:

    I love those handwarmer things! When I play tennis on a super cold day (and you can’t really play gloves and play tennis…) I put them in my pockets ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. spoonfulofsugarfree says:

    Oh, favorite way to cheer me up-get active! Have a nice facial, read a good book, eat good food ๐Ÿ™‚ have fun with friends!

  5. christina says:

    oooh i love all your purchases – some of my faves! oat bran is great! i love love love hummus too. those no pudge brownies are great bc you can make individual servings! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Pingback: Ready to be back… | Mindfully Emily

Leave a Reply

