Mixing it up!

Good evening!

I can’t say that this day has started off the greatest but it definitely did a 180 by this afternoon. I woke up to my 6:15 alarm in hopes of a phone call to substitute teach but no such luck. I forced myself to go back to bed and apparently I needed it because I didn’t get out of bed until almost 9 a.m. (pretty late for this early riser)! I’ve been getting really bad cabin fever lately with all of these days at home…no work+limited income=stay home and save your money! I am one to go out and hit up the grocery store, Target, the mall, or other places which, plus the addition of gas money, lead up to too much spending. Staying home is safer but not good for my mental health. I decided to start off my morning with a good breakfast in preparation for a noontime yoga session. Banana oatmeal with Justin’s Maple Almond Butter was my breakfast du jour:

Not always pretty, but always tasty 🙂

This is my newest obsession! I love that it comes in single serve packs because I know that I would probably devour a good portion of it if I had the whole jar 🙂

After some organization and blog reading this morning I headed to yoga with my brand new Aurorea mat:


I LOVE this mat! It’s super thick so you don’t have any pain when you’re in table top or pigeon. The only thing was it was a little slippery…I don’t know if that will go away after some use or not but I can always get a yogitoes towel for it. Yoga was so necessary today; it really helped to clear my mind and ease my anxiety. I decided when I got to yoga that I would complete workout two of my Lean Bodies Fit Blogger challenge which was a cardio workout on these:

Yup, that’s right, I hit the stairs HARD this afternoon for my workout. It was a circuit of sprints, climbing every-other-step, and jumping rope. My legs were dead tired by the end but I felt really great and so proud of myself. It really is so true that exercise gives you huge endorphin boosts. Yoga and cardio turned my day right around 🙂

It was getting a little late after the workout so I made a quick lunch of 1 egg + 2 whites, spring mix, millet, and reduced fat cheddar cheese:

A bit of a random assortment but it did the trick 🙂 I really do love eating clean and simple dishes. Heavy meals don’t sit well with me, and I especially like to know that I am going to have an easy time digesting my lunch when it’s later than usual. I reaaally wanted to digest my lunch because Eric and I had a new dinner planned to cook tonight. First off, my first ever homemade miso soup:

Our recipe was a combination of ones we’ve found.

Miso Kale Soup:

3 shitake mushrooms, slicced

2/3 cup cubed firm tofu

5 cups water

3 scallion stalks, chopped

2 cups kale, chopped

3+ tbsp mellow white miso (we added more to taste)

Directions: Add the shitake’s, tofu, and water to a medium stock pot. Bring to a boil and reduce to a simmer for 8 minutes. Remove the pot from heat and add scallions, kale, and miso last. Stir until combined. Add soy sauce or Bragg’s to taste.

The soup was good but the miso was not as strong as we’re used to. Does anyone know what type of miso is used at Japanese restaurants? I think it might be stronger than the one we bought, but still good! The other part of our meal was Eric’s new favorite dish, Brussels Sprout Hash:

Brussels Sprout and Root Vegetable Hash

Ingredients:

1 small acorn squash, peeled and chopped

1 small container of brussels sprouts, diced

1 fuji apple, diced

1 medium sweet potato, diced

1 medium red potato, diced

1/2 vidalia onion, diced

1/2 cup carrots, diced

This is such a tasty dish but not super pretty. All you have to do is toss it all in a sautee pan with some water and allow it to cook down. Then add some butter (we used Smart Balance Light) and allow it to brown up a bit.

We made enough of the Miso and Hash so that we would both have leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Definitely a veggie packed meal!

Okay now it’s time to finish watching The Biggest Loser that we recorded last night. This season is going to be so great!!

Question of the night: What’s your favorite type of workout? Which one can take your mind off of things and allow you to relax? I actually tried Zumba for the first time last night and it definitely forced me to be present and focused on the moment…but there was totally judgement on my part looking in the mirror and seeing my lack of rhythm!

Have a great night everyone!

lots of love,

Em

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

