Finals food breaks

Good evening everyone!

I had a looong day of shopping with my mom and totally spent! I love my mom’s shopping game plan: take off days that less people are out and get it done! We got up early and hit the malls hard. I was actually pretty much done with my shopping so today ended up being more self-shopping than anything ๐Ÿ™‚ Today was also a really nice break from the books, which I’ve been hitting hard lately as it’s finals time. All of my finals are group presentations and papers so it’s a huge mix of independent and group work (which is a struggle for me)! I had a final presentation last night and I have two more on Monday and Tuesday night. Wish me luck because there’s definitely a whole lot up in the air right now!

So, what has been getting me through my crazy finals cabin fever??? Workouts and food! Yes, they are the only breaks that I get from my work, aside from today’s shopping excursion.

Morning pumpkin oats:

I am sort of getting tired of my pumpkin oats but I haven’t been inspired recently to try anything new. Looking for suggestions for a new oat or breakfast dish!

Amidst afternoons of studying I sometimes take lunch breaks:

Note that it is literally in the middle of all my work, love it ๐Ÿ™‚

And then there’s times when I need an excuse to get down and dirty in the kitchen; baking time my friends ๐Ÿ™‚ Yesterday afternoon as I contemplated which of my 12+ assignments to work on, I had a thought “We’re supposed to bring food to our last class tonight…I MUST bake cookies!!!! And we have a vegan in our class…the MUST be vegan!!!” Enter: Twitter. A cry of help was called out and Ash came to my rescue in recommending a recipe that I knew would be a hit:

Christmas Cookie Dough Balls c/o Mama Pea

Mama Pea is my vegan cooking and baking hero…not to mention the funniest mom-I-want-to-be-some-day-in-the-distant-future ๐Ÿ™‚ These cookies were a HUUUGE hit with vegans and non-vegans alike…including my meat-and-potatoes Dad!

Makes 15-20 balls

3/4 c. vegan margarine (i.e. Earth Balance)

3/4 c. powdered sugar

1/4 c. organic sugar

1/2 t. salt

1 1/2 t. vanilla extract

1 c. unbleached organic flour

1/2 c. whole wheat pastry flour

1-3 t. non-dairy or organic milk

For rolling:

Christmas sprinkles

cinnamon sugar mix

crushed candy canes

So first off, I got the kitchen a bit messy:

No worries, some of that mess actually got into the mixer:

And as Mama Pea promised, things did start coming together:

I followed Mama Pea’s recipe to a “T” and made sure I didn’t add too much milk…I did not want flat balls ๐Ÿ™‚

I got my Christmas colored sugar:

and

And some snickerdoodle cinnamon sugah:

The excitement starting mounting as I trayed up my raw dough balls:

And as they were baking my mouth was watering! These balls not only look amazing but they smell and taste even better. The finished product:

I received so many praises and recipe requests for these balls!! I pointed everyone Mama Pea’s way, singing her praises. My mom even requested these balls become a part of the Christmas Cookie Tradition!

All I have to say, is a Christmas Ball for All!!

Have a great night everyone…I’ll be back this weekend with a few fun recaps ๐Ÿ™‚

lots of love,

Emily

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Finals food breaks

  1. Mama Pea says:

    Oh, you are the sweetest. I’m bursting with joy! So glad you made and shared the balls. Merry Christmas!

  2. these are so cute! i love the colorful sprinkles!

  3. I’ve never tried pumpkin oats… sounds interesting!

Leave a Reply

