Game face on!

Good evening everyone!

Today actually began for me with a at 12 a.m….yes, you read correctly, I stayed up past midnight! Last night Eric and I went to an awesome Christmas party hosted by two of his best friends. We arrived to see individual ornaments on the fridge with each of our faces pasted on. The party included yummy food and a great yankee swap (I won the gift Eric brought was two wine glasses and a bottle of Pinot Noir). We also each left with a goodie bag filled with candy, Christmas pencils, and a homemade cupcake 🙂 Such a great night!

I left around 12 a.m. because I knew I needed to sleep in my own bed and wake up to put my game face on. Enter, the to-do list:

The “list” is in full force for the next two weeks as I finish final group projects and final papers. Today I wrote my part of a literature review for a research paper (any college students out there who have had to write these you know how I feel) and will go to class 1 1/2 hours early tomorrow to work on that group project (can you feel my excitement). After a long morning of typing and editing I needed a break…and finals time means the only breaks we get are to shower, eat, and workout:

I am trying so hard in this picture to be pumped up about working out! After reading research about use of exercise as a treatment for depression for 5+ hours, I think I at least understood why going to the gym would be helpful. I spent about 35 minutes on the spin bike riding to the sound of Glee Cast The Music Volume 4…seriously, buy that c.d., it will change you life!! After my ride I did some strength training and stretching rounding out at a 55 minute workout. On my way home from the gym I went to the grocery store to grab a few last minute items to complete tonights dinner.

In the pan: 3 portobellos, 1 zucchini,  3/4 of a red pepper sauteed and seasoned with salt, pepper, dried oregano, and dried basil. The inspiration for the dish? Spaghetti Squash!! I am trying to do a bit of a detox of the carbs in my life (thanks for the inspiration Kristin!!) because they have been dominating my diet lately due to stress and tummy troubles. My goal is to stick to veggie carbs and whole grains and limit the dry cereal and cracker snacking that has been going on. Anyways, back to my dinner… Spaghetti Squash with sauteed veggies and chickpeas and fire roasted tomato sauce:

Looks like a hott mess on a plate but seriously so good! Good enough that it’s going to be my dinner tomorrow night (making a big portion means left overs for tomorrow’s dinner on the go at grad school).

I still have lots more to go on my to-do list (which does include a shower) and the next thing up is emptying out the rest of my summer clothes and finally hanging up my winter sweater…the Boston-area forcast is in the 30’s this week so I’ll be needing some warmer items!

Have a great night everyone and a wonderful start to your week tomorrow!

lots of love,

Em

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Game face on!

  1. That looks *delicious* !!! Good luck with finals girlie 🙂

  2. I love spaghetti squash! I actually prefer it to regular pasta 🙂

Leave a Reply

