A little hiatus

Hi friends!

For those of you who check back here often you may have been wondering where the heck I’ve been!? Well all I can tell you is that life has sort of been crazy in a lot of small ways that have all sort of added up. Between grad school, GI doctors, severe iron deficiency (with no known cause just yet), and some other things I have just not been in a blogging mood. I have been considering my life without blogging a lot while I have been away and I have decided that life without blogging is not something I want to be a part of! I keep thinking of recipes, stories, and ideas that I want to share with all of you. I have especially been recipe planning like mad for this weeks two day cooking-craziness that will be my first official meat and dairy free Thanksgiving, as well as a dinner party for my best friends before our 5-year High School Reunion. I cannot wait to report back with my new recipes and experiences ๐Ÿ™‚

As for this weekend, it kicked off with a crazy Friday that took me on a visit to Perkins School for the Blind in Watertown, MA. The visit was a part of a group project for one of my grad courses for which we investigate counseling services geared at minority or under-served populations (we chose the blind community as you may guess). If you get a chance, please visit the schools website; it is an incredible institution doing remarkable work for blind and visually impaired youth. The school has a old gothic, ivy league type feel as you can tell from a few of the photos that I snapped:

Such a beautiful and inspiring place.
As for the rest of my Friday…Eric and I went to see Harry Potter 7.1!! It was awesome but definitely leaves you hanging for the next one. I cannot wait for the summer to see the concluding film.
Eric and I have been busy busy today with some cleaning and home improvement activities. His grandmother has been having a really hard ย time and after spending the past two days (and probably a few more) in the hospital, the family has decided to move her out of her downstairs in-law apartment and upstairs into the main part of the house. We have been emptying and painting the spare room in hopes to have it ready for her whenever she is discharged home. More on that later, but until then, here’s a few photos that I’ve taken during my hiatus:
Been hitting the gym on a regular basis, including some strength training classes, and also going on outdoor runs with Eric in preparation for Thursday’s Turkey Trot 5k Trail Run!
Lots and lots of note-taking and To-Do List making!
In case you were looking for a wellness check, I am still showering and getting myself ready for the day ๐Ÿ™‚
And definitely keeping my bed made…with a regular 7 a.m. wake-up time on non-working days ๐Ÿ™‚
I’ve been eating my seasonal fruits, yummm juicy pears!
Having a few quick-and-easy lunches that include healthy fats.
And even stopping to take a few minutes to enjoy the end of fall views ๐Ÿ™‚
So just to clarify I am still here and I’m not going anywhere! Get excited for a week of fantastic cooking and eats…I know I am ๐Ÿ™‚
Question: How do you deal with stress in your life? Do you have daily techniques that you use to help or do you take a day or two off to just decompress?
I’ve found that exercise is really my go-to stress reliever. I can always turn to it and it ALWAYS changes my mood and mindset in some way; it reminds me of what my body is truly capable of and gets rid of many of my doubts!
Enjoy the rest of your weekend everyone!
lots of love,
Em

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A little hiatus

  1. Hi Emily, I found your blog via Carrots N Cake ๐Ÿ™‚

    One of my sisters graduated from Perkins. It truly is a wonderful institution – it changed my sister’s life, and it changed my family’s life, and I will forever be grateful for that. I have such a soft spot for the school and I’m glad you were able to visit it. Good luck with your grad school project!

    • Hi Bianca! I am so glad that you commented and so very happy to hear about how Perkins has changed your sister’s and family’s lives. Thanks for stopping by and for the well wishes ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

