Thinking Thanksgiving

Can you believe that Thanksgiving is two weeks from tomorrow!?! I certainly cannot…where did fall go!?

Seems to have been a little lost on me 🙂

As I started to think about Thanksgiving at Sunday’s William-Sonoma technique class (I have been going to these a lot!) I started to get into a bit of a panic. WHAT AM I GOING TO EAT AT MY FIRST MEAT-FREE THANKSGIVING! Don’t get me wrong, I am in loooove with all the wonderful sides on T-day but, am I going to be able to handle the aroma of Turkey stuffed with my Dad’s famous Pork Stuffing without jumping on the table and attacking the bird, face first!?!

Scary thought, right? Yeah, it’s probably a little exaggerated, but really, this is going to be my first serious encounter with meat that is attached to wayyy too many good memories to brush aside.

This isn’t my first Thanksgiving where I have had to make my own food, however. Since discovering my lactose-intolerance back in 2006, I have been learning to take portion of my food out of the mix, pre-butter and milk, and to find dairy-free versions of my famous pumpkin pie.

This year though, I am thinking bigger than just making do with the standard fare. I want my first meat-free Thanksgiving to be one to remember! So I am knee-deep in recipe searching and meal planning! I was actually inspired by Foodbuzz’s 24X24 project proposal. It got me thinking and I decided I could really get creative and have a lot of fun with this. I won’t reveal my menu just yet (who know’s maybe there’s a long-shot chance that I could get picked!) but get excited for some fun and delicious dairy and meat free meals 🙂

And before I get going to tonight’s grad class, with the topic of Love, I’ll leave you with the incredible sunset from tonight:

Question: Have you ever had to provide your own food to meet your dietary needs? How do you handle it at big family events?

Have a great evening everyone!

lots of love,

Em

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

