I made it!

Yes, I made it through my prep diet, cleanse, and colonoscopy, all in one piece πŸ™‚

My day started bright and early around 6 a.m.:

I totally have sleepy eyes here. I felt like I really needed a shower when I got up so I hopped in and then dried my hair. By the time I was done I was EXHAUSTED. Seriously, you don’t realize how much your body needs fuel to operate until you have absolutely none. I got dressed in comfy clothes and (yoga pants, hoodie, tee) and headed out the door. Before leaving I packed a few snacks of my own for the ride home:

These and ginger-ale were my savior after the procedure. In all honestly, the procedure was not bad at all. After they got me set up with an I.V. and blood pressure cuff in the prep room, they wheeled me down to the procedure room. Once my doctor got there she explained the colonoscopy procedure and the nurse explained the conscious sedation. They also gave me some anti-nausea medicine because I tend to have a tough time tolerating harsh medications, especially on an empty stomach. Once I was on my side they began to administer the sedative slowly. I actually started laughing when I felt the effects begin to set in. After that it was all a blur. I was not completely out but I was not aware of anything going on either. I remember someone telling me I was all done and the next time I opened my eyes I was in the recovery room. They let me rest on my side and sleep for a bit before have me roll over to my back and sit up to have some ginger-ale. I was then told to dress (which was a little difficult because I was dizzy/medicated/out-of-it). Before I knew it they were moving me to a chair to sit and finish my snack. I was totally in that weird medicated state of being groggy and a little bit loopy πŸ™‚

After that they walked me over to my mom in the waiting room and she helped me get myself together (or maybe it was the nurse that helped) and headed out to the car. Once in the car I worked on the graham bears and called Eric (I promised him to give him a call while I was still medicated). I requested some movies from him and I’m not sure what else.

Once home I hit the couch and was pretty much out for about an hour. When I found my energy I decided it was time for a real breakfast:

Pumpkin protein oats!! I have missed oats, fruit, fiber, pumpkin, COLOR in my food SOOO MUCH the past four days πŸ™‚ I was happy to have it back. I do have to go slow with the food, I literally have nothing in me so I don’t want to overwhelm my system. That being said, here’s my set up for this afternoon:

Saltines, ginger-ale, water, and ginger tea πŸ™‚

I was told that I am pretty much banned from doing or operating anything today, so it’s another day of low-key rest for me. Tomorrow I should be back at it with my exercise and lots of veggies!!

Have a great Thursday everyone and a special thanks to all those who left comments of support and encouragement; it was hugely appreciated!!

lots of love,

Em

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I made it!

  1. Alyssa says:

    Told you it would be easy!!!

  2. Just discovered your blog– sounds like you had quite the day!! But I’m glad it went well! I’ve never had a colonoscopy, but it sounds like it wasn’t too bad. Whew!

    Sounds like the worst part was preparing for it! I’d hate that! I actually can kind of relate– I get colon hydrotherapy sessions about once a month, and you aren’t supposed to eat before one of those, either! But, that’s voluntary. And it’s also not that bad! (actually, I feel GREAT afterward!) πŸ˜€

    Look forward to reading more!

    • Glad you stopped by Megan! Actually it was kind of nice after the prep was over; even the diet made me feel a little lighter which was nice. Your site’s great, glad to start reading πŸ™‚

  3. I am so glad that everything went well for you! This seems like it would be a pretty scary procedure, but you made it out safely πŸ™‚

    xxoo

  4. Pingback: New sushi spot | Mindfully Emily

  5. Pingback: None the wiser | Mindfully Emily

Leave a Reply

