Self-disclosure

So, as a blogger, I am engaging in self-disclosure all the time; why would I do this if I wasn’t up for that challenge? That being said, there are some things we bloggers just don’t really get into on our blogs, they just aren’t appealing to our readers! But today, I am crossing that line, and if you want to come with me, keep reading, if not, enjoy the rest of your day and stop back tomorrow!

_________________________________________________________

I have IBS; many of people suffer from this along with me, especially young women, so I know I am not alone in it. Lately though, it’s been worse. It began for me during my freshman year in undergrad, the frequent/infrequent bowel movements, difficulty tolerating certain foods, bloating and belly aches. It is never just one way for me though as with some suffers, somedays it’s IBS-C and some days its IBS-D (google these terms if you’d like).

Although it never left me, its had its ups and downs depending on where I am at in my life. I thought that moving home after undergrad would help to regulate it, but it seemed that it caused it to flare up more. Maybe it was moving from being a student full-time to working full-time…and still being a student full-time (grad school). Maybe it was trying to live under my parents roof again while wishing I could be living in the city with my college friends. I’m not quite sure, but I want to get to the bottom of it.

I was ready to accept it as IBS, case closed, a few weeks ago after seeing my third gastroenterologist in 6 years. She, like the two before her, told me that it was simply IBS and that I would have to just keep an eye on my diet and stress level to keep it at bay. A few weeks later, while dealing with yet another flare up, my doctor gave me a call. She said that she received my previous medical records and that my iron levels were pretty low; low enough that she decided a colonoscopy was necessary to rule out ulcers or any other problems that could go along with low iron (low iron means low blood levels, ulcers bleeding and flaring up constantly could explain the low iron).

A colonoscopy has been the last-resort test for me through all this; a choice that was left in my hands if I thought I really needed it. Suddenly, it was the first option and being ordered by my doctor. I know that colonoscopies are a routine procedure and that people get them all the time but for me, it has totally thrown me off.

The test is scheduled for Thursday morning, however, after reading up on it and talking to people, I have decided to go on a prep diet for the four days leading up to the test. This has been tough on me because I have been eating vegetarian and I don’t eat dairy so these suggested foods left me little options:

  • Light meat that is easily digestible such as chicken (without the skin)
  • Potatoes without skin
  • Cheese
  • Eggs
  • A light meal of steamed white fish (which I didn’t really have time for)
  • Light clear soups

My post-yoga lunch today, a red-bliss potato (without skin) and 1 egg+egg whites.

Tomorrow is the big and dreaded prep day and that is honestly the biggest hurdle for me to cross. I know that its going to be miserable and I am prepared for a long afternoon. I have even started re-reading Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows to give me something to do! I don’t think I’ve disclosed my absolute love for Harry Potter and my obsession with the books and movies.

Ok ok enough poop talk for today. If any of you have gone through a colonoscopy before, any advice or kind words? Any vegetarians or dairy free people out there?? I am HUNGRY!!!

For those of you who read this, thanks for sticking with me!!

lots of love,

Em

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Self-disclosure

  1. Alyssa says:

    Hey Em,
    I feel your pain after 2 colonoscopies, a sigmoid flex, 2 endoscopies, countless vials of blood, and nasty food tests! Honestly, i felt that the white food diet was much worse than the.colonoscopy prep. Liquid diets and not eating at all was easier for me because it forces your body into starvation mode and you don’t get as hungry.

    The colonoscopy overall is really not bad. The worst part for me was the anesthesia as it made me quite sick. Other than that, you will be a bit loopy and gassy, you will be fine 🙂

    Let me know if you need more details!

    • Thanks Alyssa! I was starting to feel kind of crazy complaining because I’ve actually been eating but a white food diet really sucks. Did you go on a liquid diet the day of? Thats my plan so far…we’ll see!

  2. I have IBS associated with my fibromyalgia. Good luck with the prep and test, hang in there!

  3. Savannah P says:

    Good luck girl 😦 I haven’t had a colonoscopy done, so I can’t offer any advice, but I will keep you in my prayers.
    I’m glad Harry and the gang will be there to help you through it! {huge HP nerd myself}

  4. I really appreciate the self disclosure because I have stomach issues all the time. I went to several doctors and a nutritionist all of who had no clue. Turns out my stomach pains are mostly related to stress, and because I’m a grad student it doesn’t help one bit. Yoga and tea are always good. Good luck with everything, I’ll be thinking of you!

    • No problem Lindsey, sometimes I have to just open up more with people rather than keeping it all to myself 🙂 I agree that grad school totally just adds to it all; I know things would not be this bad if I weren’t in the middle of this program. Tea and yoga are definitely my stand-by’s, too!

  5. I’m sorry to hear your going trough this! Have you ever looked into a gluten intolerence, it is sometimes confused or diagnosed with IBS. Do you often feel fatigued, have joint aches or hair loss? Good luck with your procedure they are quite simple, I’ve seen countless ( i know, easier said when your not on the table)

  6. Tina says:

    I hope today goes well. Thinking of you!

Leave a Reply

