Foliage, outlets, and crock-pot dinner!

If this title doesn’t shout FALL at you, I don’t know what does 🙂

Eric and I enjoyed our Saturday afternoon by taking a cruise up to Kittery, ME for a little outlet shopping. On the way we caught a glimpse of some foliage:

The outlets up in Kittery are fun, especially on a sunny day. Eric and I weren’t up there for too long, we mostly had a goal of getting his dad a birthday present. But then I got distracted by this store:

So fun! So much cooking gear, gadgets, appliances, and products. Good thing Eric likes cooking, too 🙂 Oh, and they also had snacks and samples around the store, so he was a happy boy!

And teas!

I did use discretion and resisted most temptation while I was in there…my bank account was looking a little scary this week. I couldn’t leave empty handed though:

Gummy frogs!! And for a little healthy green:

I am really trying to find a green tea that I like; I had cut out caffeine totally but I think that green tea would be a good way to get my fix every now and again. My mom has a yerba mate green tea that I reaaaalllyy dislike. So far I like the Starbuck’s one because its mild but some can be too bitter. If you’re a tea drinker (esp. green), what’s your favorite kind??

After Le Gourmet Chef, we were done with Kittery. We also didn’t want to stay too long because we knew what we had waiting for us when we got home. Our version of The Taste Traveller’s  Vegetable, Rice and Chickpea Stuffed Peppers!!

Eric and Emily Vegetarian Crock-pot Stuffed Peppers

a varition from The Taste Traveller

Ingredients:

  • 1  cup uncooked organic brown rice
  • 5 bell peppers (whatever colors you like)
  • 1 small-sized onion (about 2/3 cup)
  • 1 cup of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 cup Fire Roasted Tomatoes
  • 2 to 3 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 3 carrots, finely chopped
  • 1 tablespoon (15 ml) paprika
  • 1/2 cup fresh bread crumbs (or less if you prefer less of this topping)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions: Cut off the top of the peppers and remove seeds and white part, saving tops for later. Combine rice, tomato paste, fire roasted tomatoes, carrots, onion, chickpeas, and paprika in a bowl and combine. To make the homemade breadcrumbs, we toasted two peaces of wheat bread and allowed the to dry out a bit before popping them in the blender with some salt, pepper, and oregano. Fill each pepper 2/3 of the way with the filling. Sprinkle bread crumbs over the filling and cover each pepper with it’s top. Pour either some water or broth in to cover the bottom of the pot (about 2 cups). Set crock-pot on low for 6 hours and walk away!

Yum!!! Eric and I both really loved these. We actually left them in the crock-pot for around 7 1/2 hours so the peppers were a little too soft, but with the directions I typed they should be perfect! Definitely one to make again 🙂

And if you didn’t get enough of my dinner experiences, check out tonight’That would be our Craisin Soy Salmon (but this time I used Bragg’s Liquid Amino’s instead), sauteed kale and brussels sprouts, some butternut squash, and organic brown rice. My two favorite meals of the week are Sunday morning breakfast and Sunday night dinner 🙂 I love the breakfast because its usually my whole family and we all sit around and eat our favorite breakfast and read the Boston Globe. Sunday night dinner is just so warm and comfy and happy 🙂

Question: What’s your favorite meal? Do you or your family have any weekly or monthly meal traditions?

Have a great Sunday night everyone!!

lots of love,

Em

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Foliage, outlets, and crock-pot dinner!

  1. CaSaundra says:

    That Gourmet Chef store looks like so much fun–I’d probably be in there all day!

  2. Savvy says:

    What a delicious looking recipe! I think I should invest in a crockpot; as a student living on her own I think I’d appreciate the smells of a home-cooked meal when I walk through the door after a long day of class. I love how healthy this recipe is, too! Nothing is more frustrating than a pepper drowning in cream and cheese.

    Great blog, and great pictures! I’m new to the blog world (as of last Friday!) and I’m having a great time finding blogs to follow. I hope your week is off to a wonderful start 🙂

    • Thanks so much! I am a student, too, and I agree, its wonderful to have come cooked meal without all the time and hassel. My boyfriend and I usually do a crockpot meal on Tuesday nights and it allows him to workout after work and me to come to his house straight from class (getting there around 7:30) without all the stress 🙂 Welcome to the blogging world, it’s fun and such a wonderful and supportive place 🙂

  3. My favorite meal is Thanksgiving dinner. I love all the casseroles. 😀

    I love going into Gourmet Cooking shops like that. Although I usually leave empty handed bec 1) I’m too cheap and 2) I never know what to buy.

Leave a Reply

