Smoothie, Sunshine, Sushi

Good evening everyone!

Today was brought to you by the letter “S”!

Ok, I know, I am spending way too much time hanging out with elementary school kids. Today was no exception; the longest early-release day (half day) of my life spent with a crazy group of 5th graders. Thankfully I was not left alone, floundering with them. I was lucky enough to have a student teacher in the class who has been there everyday since the start. I told her that she was definitely running the show! After four hours, my head was throbbing and I felt like I ran a marathon (ok…maybe not a marathon, but physical exhaustion was definitely a part of it)!

Post work I decided to battle the fatigue and hit the gym. It wasn’t my best showing there but not my worst either. I sometimes find myself expecting huge gym sessions everytime I go, similar to when I used to be work-out obsessed. I have to remind myself that every bit counts and that its the consistency, not the insane intesity, that keeps me heatlhy and balanced ๐Ÿ™‚

Post-gym all I wanted was something cool and refreshing…

Banana Blue Protein Smoothie

1 small banana

3/4 cup frozen blueberries

1 cup light Silk

1 heaping T Brown Rice Protein

1 small spoonful Almond Butter

Directions: Mix it up baby!

This was a great recovery drink but also reminded me that I need to find a soy milk alternative. I’m okay with it in small doses (a splash on my oats or in my tea) but I think any more than that is just too much. I am going to try out almond milk again and see how it goes. Anyone else feel this way about soy milk? Do you like almond/rice/hemp milk better?

So on my way to the gym it started pouring rain (really, its been raining for like 4 days now) but after the gym there was finally sunshine!

I really am falling for fall ๐Ÿ™‚ I love the cool and crisp air and the sunny, breezy days.

And it’s fun to see that my backyard is still in bloom (and thriving thanks to all the rain)

And a side view:

And a gorgeous purple one (my favorite color):

I love these flowers, so big and beautiful.

After my substitute teaching, smoothie, and sunshine, there was nothing left but an evening of sushi with my love ๐Ÿ™‚ I wish I could show you an awesome sushi picture, but I really struggle with thinking about taking pictures of food before devouring it ๐Ÿ™‚

So I will leave you with these pictures and a promise of more this weekend, including some apple picking photos! It’s supposed to be a beautiful long weekend and I could not be more excited for it!

Question: any plans for the long weekend? What’s your favorite weekend activity?

Happy weekending to you all!

lots of love,

Em

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Smoothie, Sunshine, Sushi

  1. Alyssa says:

    Great smoothie! I try to limit my soy intake to tofu and tempeh. I don’t let hubby have soy because it is supposed to decrease reproductive abilities!! Yikes! When mixed, almond milk isn’t bad ๐Ÿ™‚

    Going fly fishing and hiking this weekend!

  2. Dropped by from Ashley’s blog! Those flowers are gorgeous! I am completely blanking on what type of flowers those are though.

    I actually have tried Almond Milk (Pacific brand) but really was disappointed. It kinda has a chemical after taste, I prefer Soy milk over it. I need to try hemp milk though! You could try oat milk too. Just an idea! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Love the grass and dahlia pics – so gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

