Fall cookin’ good lookin’

So as I have been exploring life without work having some time off I have been more and more inspired to cook! Unfortunately my budget it is getting to be a bit limited…fortunately I have a wonderful mother who doesn’t mind a good trip to the grocery store!

(you can tell in this photo she just loooves my taking random photo’s)

So off to the store we went yesterday, LIST IN HAND, and I got a few choice items that I had been really wanting to buy:

Some essentials for a few recipes that I have been really wanting to try. The peppermint tea has been my standby for evening classes, no more caffeine since my work days don’t begin at 6:30 or 7 am. And if you were wondering, yes, I did take the last four cans of Libby’s 100% Pumpkin! No worries, I got a little green, too:

A buttercup squash and my first bunch of kale!! Finally going to get some kale in my life, not sure where I’ll start with that… massaged kale and avacado salad, kale chips…any thoughts, recipes or suggestions???

So today I woke up when my body had had enough sleep (8:30…I know I’m crazy) and started off the day with my meditation practice. So far it’s going okay but it is not an easy thing to do, which is probably the main reason it is called a practice. I am getting there and I will just keep working on it every day, that’s all we can do 🙂

After that I finally got moving a bit and decided it was now or never for my run:

You know I’m serious when I’m wearing my 5k tee and my spandex shorts, oh it’s on!! I knew I wanted to try a different route but I hadn’t mapped out the milage, I thought I would just go for it and see how it went. Well let’s just say 4.75 miles later it went pretty great!!

Gotta love when your face matches the color of your hot pink tee! But seriously, a great run. I chose a route that was longer but a little flatter than my usual one (although it ended up still including the massive hill near the end). My new approach has been to always run the hills, even if I need a bit of rest before or after. It think it has been going well for me so far. My new running book, Runner’s World Complete Book of Women’s Running, is on it’s way and I’m very excited for that to come! Hopefully it will help to have some guided training to push me past the 3-5 mile hump I am at. Oh and other exciting news, I signed up for my next 5k in October, WITH ERIC!!! This is reason #952 why I love that boy: he went on a run the other day after I had brought up the idea of running a 5k together, he wanted to see what he time was. After he got back from running he sent me a message. He told me that his 5k time was 28:32 so he was sure he could run with me and pace for me to help me break the 30 minute mark on my 5k time. Seriously he is running this race to help me!!! As Angela would say **swoon** 🙂

Ok, so on to my post run breakfast this morning…(I mean, you saw what I bought yesterday, do you even have to ask)

Into the pot went 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 large banana (post-run potassium), 1 T agave syrup, 1 t organic pumpkin pie spices (thanks Megan!!!), and a dash of cinnamon too! Once the oats were cooked down most of the way I added about 1/3 cup of the pumpkin!! As it was finishing cooking I contemplated bowls that would make me feel fall-ish…but then I had a realization:

There was an almond butter jar that needed a little lovin’! Yes, that’s right my first offical OIAJ!!! Thanks to the inspiration of HEAB and my own obsession with almond butter, this masterpiece was born this morning:

Things got a little messy but it was all so worth it 🙂

For the rest of the day I think I am going to take a little trip over to Whole Foods to get some spelt flour and few other things.

Question: What do you go to Whole Foods for?? Is it your regular grocery store or just a specialty stop for you?

Have a great afternoon, if you live in the northeast its going to be such a great day!!!

-Em

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fall cookin’ good lookin’

  1. Hey let me know what you think of that running book! I am at the same point – I loved having a 5k plan and I’ve worked a bit past that, but I’m in a rut and I feel like I need more info. Woo spices! xo

    • Yes I will definitely let you know. My friend that recommended it really raved about it; she said she uses it all the time as her go-to running resource. We can TOTALLY get past the 5k hump and on to bigger and better races:) Thanks again for all the great goodies, they keep making my day!

  2. Oh definitely a specialty stop! I treat myself every few months to a full grocery splurge there, but it is so expensive! I like to go there for things I can’t get elsewhere 🙂

    Great job on the run! Glad to see you are already embracing the tastes of fall 🙂

  3. I use kale in my green smoothies. It’s kind of bitter so I can’t really eat it in a salad. I want to try kale chips though. Great post! 🙂

    • Thanks Carrie! Yeah for some crazy reason I decided to try a piece on it’s own…raw. Needless to say I will be eating my kale in other ways!! I will have to definitely try it in a smoothie!!

  4. I actually got that book a few weeks ago (I got the ebook version on my computer) and it’s great! Lots of useful advice. It’s definitely an inspiration, and very clearly written.

  5. Pingback: Molasses Cookie Energy Bites | Mindfully Emily

  6. Pingback: Emily, A to Z | Mindfully Emily

Leave a Reply

