Big moves

Good evening bloggies!

So I’ve made a big move in my life in the last 24 hours. My posts have been a little lacking lately and that has been due to some difficulties at home and in other aspects of my life. I have come to learn about myself that I am much more prone to reaching my limits and passing them before I take action than being proactive in preventing stress and exhaustion. Things have come to a head with home, work, school etc. lately but I’ve finally found a solution thats a huge/scary/tremendous start in the right direction (details below). But first….

The day started with some purple oats in a purple bowl:

Purple Steel-Cut Oats

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cup water

1/4 cup steel-cut oats

1/2 banana

1 packet Truvia

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 T ground flaxseed

1/4 light Silk Orignial

3/4 frozen Wyman’s blueberries.

Directions: Bring 1 1/4 cup water to a boil. Stir in oats and let simmer, on low, for 7 minutes with cover on. Remove cover and stir in banana, Truvia, and cinnamon. Allow to cook down for about 4-5 minutes until most of the water has been soaked up by the oats. At this point add in the blueberries; since they are frozen they will cool off the oat significantly. Add the milk at this point and heat the oats back up while the blueberries thaw. After a few more minutes pour into your favorite breakfast bowl and enjoy! I topped my off with a tablespoon of almond butter πŸ™‚

After a long but truly great day at work (more on that later, keep reading!) I headed to one of my favorite places everrrr:

(source)

Ok so I have admitted on multiple occasions that I am a huge nerd, but come on, school supplies, new pens, and PLANNERS!!! How can you not get excited about that!?! I guess I had to get there at some point since my first grad class is tomorrow night and I have to work during the day. Here’s my loot:

That would be three fabulous colored folders (plastic because the paper ones can’t hold up to my rough and tough academic lifestyle), a three subject mid-sized notebook, a new weekly planner (daily is overdoing it and monthly is just unrealistic), and some .7 width ball-point gel pens. Perfect.

I skipped my running workout today because I was listening to my body and realized that I was physically and emotionally exhausted from the past weekend. I did change into some workout clothes and do a bit of yoga, stretching, and weights for arms. I just needed to breathe and move my body in a way that made it feel good and relieved the stored stress and tension.

My best friends Katlyn and Kristina picked me up for an awesome dinner at Soma Restaurant. We chatted and catched up on life and shared some yummy food. We split an appetizer of “assorted offering of tasty dips with crusty ciabatta;” their fresh baked bread is so warm and soft on the inside but crusty on the outside. Katlyn and I each had a glass of Cabernet Sauvignon and Kristina got a draft, I want to say Harpoon I.P.A. but not totally positive. Katlyn and I enjoyed the Soma Salad which includes “mixed greens, cucumber, red onions, bell red and green peppers, shaved carrots, white mushrooms, herb crisp, house made yogurt.” I skipped the onions and yogurt and added avacado. Kristina got an individual sized vegetarian pesto pizza. We had a great dinner and an even better talk; there’s something extremely therapeutic about being with people who know, understand, and love you through and through.

After dinner I came home and was feeling a little adventurous and decided to make up a recipe that I read today:

Zucchini-Herb Hummus

Ingredients:

1 can (15 oz.) chickpeas

1 cup coarsely chopped zucchini

1/4 chopped parsley

1/4 chopped fresh basil

1/2 t salt and pepper

2-3 T extra-virgin olive oil

1/2 lemon, juiced

Directions: Start off by putting the parsley and basil in the food processor to chop. Next, rough chop the zucchini, add to food processor with herbs and combine.Drain and rinse the chick peas and add to the food processor and pulse. Add lemon juice and pulse. Gradually add the olive oil and process until smooth. Add salt and pepper to taste.

In the making:

And the finished product:

It’s a whole lotta green but I promise it’s super good! Think of a cross between pesto and hummus, yum! Totally packed this with my lunch for tomorrow πŸ™‚

Ok so finally back to my BIG NEWS:

I have been thinking about my hours at my job a lot in the past few weeks, especially with school fast approaching. I was starting to worry that this would be a classic Emily-scenario of passing my limit instead of taking proactive steps to take care of myself and my well-being. When I moved home from undergrad college, I had already begun working full-time (32 hours/week) at my job. I was frantic to secure the position because I wanted to ensure a steady income while living at home and going to grad school. I made every effort to arrange my graduate courses and schedule around my work schedule, rather than the other way around.

Unfortunately, I was setting myself up to continue this pattern until recently, talking to family and friends and hearing the validation that it is okay to say when enough is enough. My parents had to remind me that its okay to lean on others for support and, thankfully, at this point in my life I am not in a position to have to do it all. They supported me in resigning at my current job because they realized that I was pushing myself to the limit and it is no longer beneficial for me. As much as I have gained from this work experience for the past 3+ years, it is time to move on and put my education in the foreground. I have become so overwhelmed with stress that I haven’t even truly been able to become excited for the upcoming semester although I am in a program that I love (for those of you who are new to my blog I am in a Graduate program for Counseling Psychology with a focus on holistic counseling).

Today, as I handed my boss my official letter of resignation, there was mix of so many emotions: fear, nervousness, guilt, uncertainty, excitement. Despite all of these, the overall feeling was a huge sense of relief. I was finally, finally, FINALLY listening to what my heart, soul, mind and body had been telling me for quite some time. I was giving myself a chance to let go, to grow, and to finally breathe.

I’m not saying that I may not find work during this semester and the following three as I complete this program. I am, however, saying that the work that I choose from this point forward will be work that supports and benefits me while providing an income. I am beginning to make choices more mindfully and carefully by listening to what my heart and body are telling me.

So here’s to a new beginning…tomorrow is my first day of a new semester, of a new academic year. I am doing what I said in my last post, keeping my promise of making things different this time around.

Question: have you ever had to take a huge leap? How did you feel before, and more importantly, what did you gain afterwards?

Thanks so much for reading and sticking with me.

Good night,

Em

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Big moves

  1. I took a huge leap in switching careers (and going back to grad school for a completely different subject)… After all the hard work of grad school paid off, it felt great!

    Good luck on your journey – it sounds like you are pursuing a career that will nourish your soul and that of others!

  2. eatmovelove says:

    Oh wow – I think this is going to be so good for you! Focus on YOU and your health and your program (which I am soooo jealous of by the way…can you get me in there please? πŸ˜‰ ).

    Look forward to reading more about your “adventures”. πŸ™‚

    Oh and LOVE hummus – so this is a must! …although I don’t think it can replace my chickpeas πŸ˜‰

  3. Tina says:

    Kudos to you for doing what you know will help you and be best for your needs. That’s great you have support from loved ones too. You are a very strong woman. Very few people would have been willing to do that.

  4. Thanks for the hummus recipe as I love both pesto and hummus. πŸ™‚

    I laughed when I saw the Staples photo. I love office supply stores as well, and I really miss buying school supplies.

    Congrats on your job resignation – sounds like such a relief and good for you for listening to your heart and body. I’m sure they’re both grateful.

    My biggest leap was quitting my full-time job as a development director for a major non-profit and going to massage therapy school, and I’ve never once regretted it. One of the best decisions I ever made!

    • Glad the recipe is something you may try πŸ™‚ Thanks for the support on my decision. Moves like that are so difficult to make and even if they resonate so strongly in your heart part of you still needs to hear the approval that it’s okay to let go of something. Your story makes me feel confident that listening to my heart will lead to good things!

  5. Pingback: Change is finally good! | Mindfully Emily

  6. Pingback: Sunday Funday! | Mindfully Emily

  7. Pingback: My journey | Mindfully Emily

  8. Pingback: All in a day… | Mindfully Emily

Leave a Reply

