Trying a thing or two

Good afternoon everyone!

Yesterday I skipped my post in lieu of my last official Wednesday-night date-night with Eric. Although I do spend a great deal of my free time with that boy, Wednesdays are always a sure thing. We began our WNDN’s last fall when my classes started for grad school. Our relationship was becoming difficult because we weren’t seeing each other enough, and when we were, I was usually burnt out and pretty dull. We decided that we needed to make our relationship more of a priority than something to fall back on during free time. We found that having one night a week that we both dedicated to each other was a great way to keep our relationship strong and growing despite the stresses of everyday life. This semester I have class on Wednesday nights, so we will have to make sure we find another consistent time for each other. Last night we chose to stay in and cook a salmon dinner. It was a good night to stay in because, for the first time EVER, we had his whole house to ourselves. Eric’s triplet brothers have just recently all moved to college and last night his parents went up to Maine to watch one of them play soccer for UNE.

Eric and I made baked salmon with brown rice and steamed green beans, simple but oh so delicious. After dinner we decided we wanted to do something cute so we went to Salem Willows, an old local theme park where everything seems big and amazing when you’re a kid. They still have some things that adults love, like salt water taffy, homemade popcorn, and SLUSH. Yes my friends, if you have not yet experienced slush in New England (and not the snowy kind), you are missing out.

(source)

Yup, so our cute end to date night was that, some black and white photo’s in an old photobooth (which I’ve misplaced), and snuggling on the couch to catch up on Lie To Me.

Today started out slow, with a long walk around the neighborhood. I had another rough attempt at a run which I am not going to let bring me down. I know that when I struggle on my runs that my body is trying to tell me something, so I am listening. The walk was good and warmed me right up, as the temperatures were already in the 80’s before 10 a.m. I came home and I was torn, try out my newly-purched steel cut oats or have a Green Monster? Well…I had both 🙂

Emily’s Quick-Cooking Steel Cut Oats:

1 1/4 cup water

1/4 Trader Joe’s Quick-Cook Steel Cut Oats

3/4 small banana

2 t cinnamon

1 packet Truvia

Directions: Bring water to a boil, then wisk in steel-cut oats for 1 minute. Turn down to a simmer, cover for 8 minutes. Uncover oats, stir in banana, cinnamon, and Truvia. Let simmer, uncovered for 5-7 minutes longer. Pour in a fun bowl and be prepared to be FULL!

Banana-Blue Green Monster:

1 cup organic baby spinach (rinsed off)

3/4 cup light original Silk

1/2 small banana

1/3 frozen blueberries (I love Wyman’s)

1 1/2 t ground flax seed

Ice

Directions: Combine all ingredients in blender, mix up on high. Serve in a tall glass and feel the refreshment 🙂

After a huge breakfast that was maybe a little too large, I decided today was a day for some sun…or so I thought. I went down to my favorite local beach with a book, a magazine, and 64 ounces of water + 1 8 ounce gatorade. I lasted an hour and a half, kids. Really, it was just that hot today. I packed up and headed home and decided that maybe today was a day to try out a few recipes in the A.C.

My first one was pretty much a major FAIL. I recently purchased Bob’s Red Mill’s Garbanzo Bean Flour so I could try out Gena’s Sweet Potato Chickpea Burgers. I had almost the whole package of Garbanzo Bean Flour leftover and there was a recipe on the back for hummus which I was excited to try. I somehow screwed it up, royally. Maybe it was the fact that I didnt use garlic or tahini, maybe I didn’t reconstitute the flour correctly. Either way, its sitting in the fridge, and I’m pretty sure it will soon have a date with the garbage disposal.

My second recipe was MUCH more successful. I have been eating a good amount of guac this summer, and as good as healthy fat is for me, I can tend to go a little overboard with the guac. I decided it was try to try out some Edamole.

Em’s Edamole:

1 cup edamame, steamed

1 lime, juiced

1/2 t cumin

1/2 t cayenne pepper

Salt and pepper

Directions: Place the 1 cup of frozen edamame in a microwave steamer with some water, cook in microwave for 2:30 minutes. Allow edamame to cool for a few. Add edamame, juice of 1 lime, cumin, cayenne, salt and pepper to food processor. Pulse for a minute or two. Add water, slooowly, until desired consistency is reach; mine was the consistency of hummus.

Scoop into a container and let it chill in the fridge until dinner time 🙂

As for the rest of my afternoon, I’m currently sitting outside, blogging in the heat and under some shade. Before I go to sweat it out some more, I’ll leave you with a few shots from the garden:

Grow little green tomatoes, grow!

I adore these flowers, they’re so gorgeous.

Well, that’s all for today. Hope you are staying cool wherever you are. Have a great Thursday night and hopefully an even better long Labor Day Weekend!

-Em

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trying a thing or two

  1. Tina says:

    That is so important in a relationship to make REAL time for each other. I always cherish the date nights (sans M) my husband and I can actually get.

Leave a Reply

