Pushing through, making changes

Good Evening!

So today was a thought provoking day for me. Change is obviously in the air when you are humming the tune to Michael Jackson’s “Man in the Mirror”

(source)

But seriously, I have been a bit introspective lately and I am ready to start making some changes in my life. Thanks to the empowering stories of bloggers like Angela, the life-changing Operation Beautiful book by the inspiring Caitlin, and the super-mama Pea, I’m starting to believe a bit more in the power and control I have over my own life to seize happiness both mindfully in the moment and in the bigger picture of my life.

I am not happy at my current job and I am finally beginning to realize that it’s a choice to be that way. I have the option of staying there and changing my outlook on it, reevaluating the things that frustrate me and getting past them. I also have the option to say goodbye and move on. Although I am in grad school and my life is organized around my classes, it is not completely dictated by one particular schedule; I have options and the ability to make change.

Recently, my mom and I were going through a few boxes from my childhood that have been piled up in the attic over the years. Through all the high school memorabilia and clutter I found a picture that made me stop and think for a minute.

A childhood picture of me; young, innocent, happy, and ready for anything that life would throw at me (as long as I’m warm enough in my purple hoodie with frills on the side)! It’s funny to look at a picture like that and think about how much has happened since: ups and down, experiences, friends, loves, heartbreaks and happiness. All of which has added up to woman I am today. Although I am not always sure of each decision I make, I am a person who can know and trust her gut instincts and what her body tells her (albeit through much of trial and error).

Today work and the weather (the rain in the Northeast has gotta stop) got me feeling a little down. I had an appointment after work that threw off my schedule (I like to hit the gym hard right after work to get it over with) and I was feeling blah. I really didn’t want to go workout at 5, I wanted to cook dinner and get cozy in my pj’s. Then I remembered something…my 10k training plan!

I wrote this plan down in my notebook the other day at work, probably more out of boredom and a morning of fat talk than an actual real desire to run. But nonetheless, there it was in, in front of me, letting me know I was scheduled for a three mile run today. My appointment got out at 4:50 and I thought “it’s not 5 o’clock yet, and this run may just change my day” and it did! I felt strong, powerful, and so full of energy and life! And I also gave myself the opportunity to check off one of the workouts on my training plan ๐Ÿ™‚

Even though it was just one run, sometimes that’s all you need to keep going, to inspire change. So I’m going to keep pushing forward and keep making changes. I am not going to settle for being unhappy and feeling this lack of energy. Can’t wait for tomorrow’s workout, cross-training ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a great evening everyone and an even better tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚

-Em

p.s. If you love Glee and need a little more musical inspiration, check out one of my fav songs ๐Ÿ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pushing through, making changes

  1. Danielle says:

    It’s so amazing how childhood photos reveal the potential for change and self-determination in all of us. Great post! I’m glad I’ve found your blog.

  2. Good for you! I try to center my days around my workouts because they really make me feel good…feeling good is key to feeling happy ๐Ÿ™‚ Do what makes you feel good and focus on that as your guiding strength. For me it is working out and loving my husband, for some it is reading a good book. It is ok to be tired too, though…that is one thing I struggle with. I like to think I am superwoman, but let’s be serious ๐Ÿ™‚

    You have a wonderful day pretty lady!

    ~Alyssa ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

