Rainy Day Stew

Good evening bloggies!

For any of you living in the Northeast, you know that today has been pretty gross! It’s been rainy, windy, gray and gloomy; perfect weather to stay inside and cook!

I woke up and could not be more glad that it was my day off, and I knew it was a day of complete and total rest. My stomach, muscles, and body were all giving me their heads-up that I was going to relax and get some R&R. So, after a wonderful bowl of almond butter & blueberry jam oats, I kicked back and began recipe planning. I knew I wanted some sort of soup but didn’t exactly know what would be the ingredients. After a while of searching I stumbled upon Angela’s Feelin’ Good Stew. It had everything I was looking for and I knew that, with a few minor variations, it was going to be my soup du jour (and the week after seeing the pot-full I was left with).

I geared up and headed out to the store to pick up the rest of the ingredients that weren’t in my pantry. It was a scary journey, but a girls gotta do what a girls gotta do! Upon returning home at 1:30, I realized that I needed a quick pre-stew meal:

3 egg-white sandwich with sauteed spinach atop two slices of Trader Joe’s Spelt Bread.

And then the stew-prep began, accompanied by Pandora’s Glee Radio (what’s good cooking without good music!?). To begin, there was some chopping:

That would be one large summer squash pretending to be a zucchini, c/0 my aunt as seen in my last post, and a zucchini.

The zucchini’s glamour shot

Everybody in the pot! I covered up my mom’s fantastic Le Creuset pot and let it simmer while I curled up to watch “It’s Complicated.”

The final product, minus a few servings that my mom and I had, delish!!

Summer Crop Stew

Adapted from Angela’s Feelin’ Good Stew

Ingredients:

  • 7-8 cups of Trader Joe’s low-sodium chicken broth
  • 3 T of tomato paste
  • 1 summer sqaush + 1 zucchini, chopped
  • 1/2 red pepper, chopped
  • 1 small package of white mushrooms, sliced
  • 3/4 cups fresh green beans, chopped
  • 1 large sweet potato, peeled and diced
  • 1 1/4 cups brown rice
  • 1 can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed (I used Eden Foods no salt added Garbanzo Beans)
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 1/2 t Pappy’s Low Sodium Seasoning (instead of the paprika Angela used, I subbed this seasoning which had salt, paprika, celery, onion, garlic and a few other spices)
  • 2 bay leaves
  • Kosher salt, to taste

Chop, prep, and rinse all produce. Add everything into a large pot, cover and bring to a boil, stirring occasionally. Reduce to a simmer for 40 minutes. Let cool, serve in a big soup bowl and enjoy!

This was the perfect rainy day meal; warm, filling and delicious! I can’t wait to have it as my lunch tomorrow at work. It’s always freeeezing at my job so it will be nice to heat this up and hopefully get a little bit warmer. The rest of the night I plan on relaxing and reading some more of my latest book, Keeping Faith by Jodi Piccoult. Enjoy your evening everyone!!

-Em

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rainy Day Stew

  1. Pingback: Emily, A to Z | Mindfully Emily

Leave a Reply

