Best way to have a day-off

Good evening bloggies 🙂

I thought I would take my turning negatives into positive and make a whole day out of it! Last night I decided that I would take this day off and do something I NEVER do…all the things I feel like and want to do. I know that sounds a bit wierd, but I always fill my days off with things I “should” or “have” to do, never really just listening to myself and enjoying the day.

So of course, I began my day by getting up a bit early and making my favorite breakfast: oats!

This recipe was a little different than the usual lately..it called for:

1/3 cup rolled oats, rounded

1 cup water

1/2 scoop chia seeds

1 1/2 packets of stevia

1/2 t cinnamon

1/4 cup natural applesauce

The mixture cooked over low heat for about 7-8 minutes. I topped it with about 1 1/2 T almond butter and breakfast was had 🙂 My day continued on with an appointment at 8:30 (ok, yes, my one “had to” but I chose to make the appointment and it wasn’t bad), followed by a trip to the store to get some more soy milk.

When I got home I tackled the emptying of my scary/over-stuffed desk in anticipation for the arrival of my new and improved one built by my wonderful boyfriend, Eric. I swear, for me, a man that can build me something is a keeper 🙂

The finished product: already filled with some of my leftover junk necessities. I think I will go to Home Goods and buy a two small baskets to put in the cubbies to hide the clutter. The real goal of this desk was maximum surface space and minimum clutter: grad students need minimal distractions and maximum work space!

After the old desk was empty and out of my room it was on to relaxation time! I made myself a big mug of tea and got on my bikini and planted myself in the backyard with my current book, “On Mystic Lake” by Kristin Hannah. To be honest with you, the book was not my first choice; it was the only leisure book around amidst my summer reading and I grabbed it on a beach day for something to do. I was about to give up on it but a plot line began involving some interesting child psychology stuff related to Conversion Disorder. Bottom line: the nerd in me held on to it for the psych-stuff and the sap romantic in me had to see how the love story ended. I am less than 75 pages from the end so I think I will be making a trip to the library this evening to get something new to start tomorrow. The best thing about summer classes is how much the motivate me to READ FOR PLEASURE the second they end. I couldn’t wait to ditch the scholarly articles and grab a good novel 🙂

I took a little break from the outdoors for some Eric time, he stopped by to visit me on his lunch break. We spent his visit looking at hotels for our upcoming trip to Portland, ME. He it booking a hotel for my birthday and I couldn’t be more excited! I love Portland, it has such a great feel and the vibe reminds me a bit of Europe with it’s cafes and al fresco dining. We went there last summer for his birthday present, a comedy show staring his favorite comedian Jeff Dunham. We’re planning on heading up there next Friday (my actual birthday) and having all afternoon and evening and maybe doing an excursion on the way home, possibly on the mountain bikes.

After Eric left I totally lounged, watching repeats of Grey’s Anatomy on Lifetime…I know, total girl moment. After a while I decided that I needed a bit more fresh air and pulled myself off the couch to head to a local farm to buy some fresh produce. I’m not going to lie, folk, I had something big in mind…

That would be my version of Ange’s Beet, Apple, and Orange Salad in a Homemade Raspberry Vinaigrette

My variation included a little bit of added protein in the way of a few mushrooms, a bit of goat cheese, and some slivered almonds (not pictured) and it was served with a side of brown rice. All I have to say is YUM! I am such a sweet and savory girl and this salad was all that and more: sweetness from the beets, apples, and oranges; a little bit of tart from the fresh raspberries; the saltiness of the goat cheese and almonds. Great way to end my relaxing day.

For now I am thinking of getting in a quick walk before the evening sun sets, its such a gorgeous night out there! Hope everyone has a good day and, if you have a day off coming up, I HIGHLY recommend just doing anything and everything you feel; you’ll thank yourself later!

-Em

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Best way to have a day-off

  1. Looks fabulous! 🙂 Will link back 🙂

  2. Pingback: E-Work — Oh She Glows

Leave a Reply

